Posted in Intellectual Assets, Lifelong Learning, Social Media Connect, Storytelling

3 questions to ask before providing valuable feedback

 

What would I say? How would I say what I liked or did not like?  Would it be insensitive to tell it like it was?

My fingers beat my brain to it and by the time it dawned on me the confirmation that email had been sent had popped up on my screen.  My euphoria was short-lived and what I was feeling at that point in time was nothing short of raw consternation.

Here, I was battling a deluge of emotions and also attempting to manage the anxiety this simple email request had inflicted on me.  I was quickly transported back to the white knuckle moments waiting on a response from the bank to my offer and dreading the call from the agent after two rejections on previous offers.  The difference with the third offer was I had found a home I wanted needed.  I had no doubt in my mind, I did not have it in me to stomach another rejection and resume the search online as well as traveling from one end of town to the other to view properties.    For an agent that saved me the emotional trauma of having to make a fourth offer this was my opportunity to show my appreciation in my own small way, by sharing my experience with others on the off chance that the testimonial may help others in making a more informed decision about whether to go with my agent.

20160719_094702

What is a Testimonial?

A testimonial is a written endorsement based on personal experience of the client or consumer.  It builds trust and credibility with future clients and is highly valuable to any business owner because it could be just those few words that convert a wavering prospect into a paying customer.

1)      Keep it Short, Simple and Real –Two short paragraphs with the first paragraph highlighting the key points as how the business owner worked with the client, the value delivered and what makes the business owner stand out.  Focus on the problem or need addressed and the results achieved.

2)      Use real language which includes language and grammar quirks which help in connecting with the reader.

3)      Specifics – Move away from vague generalizations and focus on specifics that make your experience more relatable.  Anonymous or mystery endorsements come across as less personalized and genuine .

3 Questions to ask before writing your next Testimonial

  •  Format
    • Question:   Why did you select or approach or recommend XYZ company?  Answer: I approached or recommend  XYZ because…
  1.  Question:  In what ways did XYZ  help me? Answer:  XYZ helped  me by quickly identifying that proximity to public transportation was top on my list of locations.
  2. Question:  What was the result of XYZ’s assistance? Answer: The result  was finding a home that was within driving distance from the train station. 
  3. Question:  What was one thing I liked about XYZ’s service or product and how did you find the overall experience?  Answer: One thing I liked was XYZ’s foresight in explaining to me what else would in the long run add to the resale value of my home.  I was indifferent towards having an attached garage.  However,  every winter day, shielded from the cold elements by my covered garage, I am thankful to my agent for the valuable insight he provided. 

testimonial-3

 

Author:

Broad based knowledge seeker; outside and beyond the box - arts and culture, travel, writing, christian faith walk, good reads and refreshing conversation - and not necessarily in that order. Storytelling by connecting the dots between the traditional and non-traditional, the obvious and not so obvious.

Leave a Reply

