Posted in Uncategorized

Daily Prompt – Flawed

What is your Worst Quality?
Making choices when I am HALT
(Hungry, Angry Lonely and Tired or my variation Hurt, Angry, Lonely and Tired)
All too familiar emotions that have and can lead to poor choices. For me.
The flaw is in my repeated failure to be sensitive to the onslaught of these emotions. Time and Time again, not doing so has and can be costly.
How costly you may ask? Depends on whether I am experiencing one, some or all at that momemt in time (imagine that).
But with time I am becoming better at acknowledging the lure or should I say draw of that downward spiral and proactively fighting it off or limiting its impact.
Some call it growth.
I am still undecided but I do recognize the value in mastering this art of early detection and quitting while I am ahead.
Interestingly, it could be as mundane as a customer service representative giving me canned responses to a geniune complaint.  Yes, I will be the first to admit, in my mind its a geniune complaint that merits the full attention of a receptive ear (as in don’t interrupt, hear me out, don’t speak over me. just listen while I tell my story.. remember I made the call, so it must be important)
At this point, it is to late, there is that rise in my voice and the simmering irritation in my spirit.
It is only after the fact, during my time of reflection,
I am reminded once more, flawed I am.
The bigger lesson in all of this however, that my flawed nature is no excuse to be rude or to give into my irritation, because surprise! I am not the only one with imperfections.
Humans by their very nature are flawed.
What is that saying “you can catch more bees with honey”
Mental note to self: Rather than give into my Hunger for a YES answer (This saying definitely rings true “a hungry man is an angry one”)
Anger,
Loneliness
or Tiredness
I accept that I am flawed and I am more willing to work on these imperfections.
There is no telling, I may actually get alot more YES answers.
Naysayers today may become Yeasayers tomorrow with a
sweet(er), civil, calmer approach
even from flawed human beings like myself.
Author:

Broad based knowledge seeker; outside and beyond the box - arts and culture, travel, writing, christian faith walk, good reads and refreshing conversation - and not necessarily in that order. Storytelling by connecting the dots between the traditional and non-traditional, the obvious and not so obvious.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – Flawed

  1. Could not have said it better. Most of us are wrestling with at least one or all of the aforementioned emotions and need to address it or them with determination and a sense of urgency. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

